The current Bodie Island Lighthouse is the third that has stood in this vicinity of Bodie Island on the Outer Banks in North Carolina and was built in 1872. It stands 156 feet tall and is located on the Roanoke Sound side of the first island that is part of the Cape Hatteras National Seashore. The lighthouse is just south of Nags Head, a few miles before Oregon Inlet. It was renovated from August 2009 to March 2013, and was made climbable by the public. There are 214 steps that spiral to the top. The 170-foot structure is one of only a dozen remaining tall, brick tower lighthouses in the United States — and one of the few with an original first-order Fresnel lens to cast its light.
The wind is no match for sand fences on Corolla Beach, Outer Banks, North Carolina
Sand fences against a wonderful backdrop of dramatic clouds on Corolla Beach, Outer Banks, North Carolina
There are few experiences quite as thrilling as seeing the wild Spanish Mustangs roaming freely on the beautiful sandy beaches of North Carolina’s Outer Banks. Known as the Spanish Mustangs of Corolla, these stunning horses have roamed this harsh and unforgiving land for almost 500 years. Yet, despite the obvious obstacles they face and the seemingly sparse supply of food, they have thrived here since they first arrived with the Spanish explorers of the early 16th century.
Due to the cold weather the mustangs didn’t venture on to the beach, so we had to settle on seeing them on the dunes.
An egret gives company to a wild Spanish mustang at Corolla, North Carolina
A wooden pier with a gazebo allows one to get closer to the water at Currituck Heritage Park, Outer Banks, North Carolina
The winding staircase of The Currituck Beach Lighthouse, Outer Banks, North Carolina, offers ample photographic opportunities.
Here is an image of the semi-circular designs in monochrome …..
Set on 39 pristine acres along the Currituck Sound in Historic Corolla, Outer Banks, North Carolina, the Whalehead is a beautifully restored 1920s-era Art Nouveau-style mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
With its bold yellow paint, copper roof, and mahogany doors, the Whalehead invites you to explore a fascinating period in Outer Banks history. Nearly every inch of the home has been carefully restored to the way it looked when Edward Collings Knight Jr. and his wife, Marie Louise, first opened the doors as a lavish hunting retreat in 1925.